Home > BizTalk Server > Send Port Groups

Send Port Groups

This probably won’t be anything new for most experienced BizTalk developers, but I learned something so I figured I’d write it down to make sure I don’t forget.

At work we have several systems that subscribe on message type. Before moving to our Test and Prod environments I figured it’d be nice to simplify maintenance by using a Send Port Group. So I read the section on Send Port Groups in my book written by Darren Jefford, Kevin B. Smith, and Ewan Fairweather. It didn’t quite address the question I had in the way I was expecting an answer so I figured I’d just try things out.

What I had in mind worked as I suspected for my simple cases. For example, when I had

  • SendPort1 – subscribing on MessageTypeA
  • SendPort2 – subscribing on MessageTypeA
  • etc…

I created a Send Port Group and added the filter of MessageTypeA. Then I removed the filters from SendPort1 & SendPort2 and sure enough things worked fine. So then I moved to my more complex case (simplified here).

  • SendPort5 – subscribing on MessageTypeA
  • SendPort6 – subscribing on MessageTypeA and CustomFilter1
  • etc…

I figured I could have a new Send Port Group filtering on MessageTypeA and add both SendPort5 and SendPort6, and that I could then add an additional filter to SendPort6 (that of CustomFilter1). Want to guess what happened?

I got two messages in my SendPort6 destination for an incoming message of MessageTypeA meeting CustomFilter1’s criteria. This is when I realized that I hadn’t understood the book well. As you probably know, the subscription for the Send Port Group is met, and then a separate subscription is met by the filter on SendPort6, causing two messages in my output. I hadn’t expected this.

Categories: BizTalk Server
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

