Home > BizTalk Server > BizTalk R2 WCF Authorization

BizTalk R2 WCF Authorization

Let me share a quick story.  We’ve been using BizTalk Server 2006 for a couple of years now at my company.  We recently upgraded to R2, and I was excited to get the opportunity to work with WCF… so a few months ago I created my first WCF service.  Things worked about like what I expected except for one thing: authorization.  I kept thinking, “this has got to be really easy” yet I could never figure out how to restrict access to certain users (this was fairly easy to do with ASMX services).  That’s what’s leading me to write this post.

There are a few things I like a lot more about WCF, but there’s one thing I can’t stand: the way authorization is implemented.  Here’s why:

From what I’ve seen and heard, WCF is intended to make security easier by allowing this to be configured in XML configuration files.  This is neat because the developer can do his/her work easily, and the details on security can be configured dynamically (without recompiling).   It’s indeed pretty cool that you can change from using Windows Authentication to basic auth, etc. all in a configuration file.  However, this “guiding principle” behind WCF doesn’t hold true when it comes to authorization!  I couldn’t believe my eyes when I read this post:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/biztalkr2adapters/thread/12a47533-acb4-4ff4-bc32-d8ea305cb066

Are you serious?  I have to write a WHOLE BUNCH of code just to restrict access to a web service?!  There’s not a wizard for this?  Or perhaps some GUI control?  No XML file for this?  Or how about clicking on “Permissions” in IIS like you used to be able to do with ASMX services?  So much for configuring security in an XML file.  I’m deeply disappointed.

In fact, I really hope I’m wrong.  Perhaps there’s some easier way that I just happened to have missed.  Please do tell me this is the case and end this bad dream.

Since I refuse to manage web service access via code for what might end up to become hundreds (or even thousands) of web services, I’ll have to do this some other way.  I think I’ll use SOA’s Service Manager to control authorization (I should get paid for promoting them).  There it can be done easily at the operation level of a web service.  I just thought WCF would have done something like this too.

Categories: BizTalk Server

Leave a Reply

